TAB AFL Odds and Review
Independent bookmaker research, live AFL pricing and verified Australian product information.
- Data last checked
- 28 Sep 2026
- Facts verified
- 144
- Sources checked
- 85
How competitive are TAB's AFL odds?
- Best price
- 54.9%
- 2 of 12 bookmakers
- Within 2% of best
- 69.5%
- within 1%: 62.1%
- Mean margin
- 5.23%
- 2 of 12 (lower is better)
- Match coverage
- 100%
- 218 of 218 matches
| Market | Prices | Best price | Within 2% | Mean margin |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Head-to-head | 436 | 6.0% | 28.2% | 5.14% |
| Line | 408 | 79.9% | 95.3% | 5.27% |
| Totals | 268 | 96.6% | 97.4% | 5.28% |
Best-price share by round
Season average 54.9%
66.7% best price, 30 prices
margin 5.28%
57.7% best price, 52 prices
margin 5.19%
61.1% best price, 36 prices
margin 5.20%
50.0% best price, 30 prices
margin 5.24%
57.1% best price, 42 prices
margin 5.21%
44.7% best price, 38 prices
margin 5.23%
58.0% best price, 50 prices
margin 5.22%
56.5% best price, 46 prices
margin 5.20%
50.0% best price, 44 prices
margin 5.21%
47.8% best price, 46 prices
margin 5.28%
60.4% best price, 48 prices
margin 5.21%
56.3% best price, 48 prices
margin 5.23%
50.0% best price, 34 prices
margin 5.23%
47.5% best price, 40 prices
margin 5.28%
66.7% best price, 36 prices
margin 5.23%
50.0% best price, 28 prices
margin 5.21%
56.3% best price, 32 prices
margin 5.25%
52.4% best price, 42 prices
margin 5.23%
52.4% best price, 42 prices
margin 5.18%
45.5% best price, 44 prices
margin 5.28%
51.9% best price, 52 prices
margin 5.26%
60.0% best price, 50 prices
margin 5.26%
59.1% best price, 44 prices
margin 5.18%
52.2% best price, 46 prices
margin 5.20%
59.6% best price, 52 prices
margin 5.23%
58.3% best price, 12 prices
margin 5.28%
63.6% best price, 22 prices
margin 5.17%
50.0% best price, 12 prices
margin 5.31%
60.0% best price, 10 prices
margin 5.25%
25.0% best price, 4 prices
margin 5.19%
Hover or tap a bar for the round's figures.
AFL best-price frequency, 2026 season
1,366 comparable prices across 218 matches, 30 snapshots, 24h before each round's first match. A bookmaker with a row here posted prices in the feed; a bookmaker without one did not.
| # | Bookmaker | Best price | Margin |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 84.8% | 1.87% | |
| 2 | 54.9% | 5.23% | |
| 3 | 41.3% | 5.23% | |
| 4 | 38.1% | 5.26% | |
| 5 | 37.0% | 5.51% | |
| 6 | 35.5% | 5.37% | |
| 7 | 30.2% | 5.66% | |
| 8 | 10.0% | 5.86% | |
| 9 | 9.4% | 6.15% | |
| 10 | 6.4% | 5.28% | |
| 11 | 6.4% | 5.28% | |
| 12 | 2.3% | 6.68% |
Exchange prices are before commission. Ties for best price count for every bookmaker at that price. Method and limits on the bookmaker research methodology page.
TAB live AFL and AFLW pricing
- AFL fixtures priced right now
- 0Current TAB AFL odds
- AFLW fixtures priced right now
- 9 of 9 in the feedAFLW odds
Compare every tracked bookmaker on the AFL odds comparison, premiership odds, Grand Final odds and player props pages, or work a price through the bookmaker margin calculator and devig calculator.
TAB AFL odds, last round's closing prices
- Best or equal best
- 50.0%
- of TAB's prices, against 9 other books
- Head to head margin
- 5.1%
- average this round, lower is better
| Match | Home | Away | Line | Over |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fremantle Dockers vs Brisbane LionsSat 26 Sep | 2.25 | 1.65best 1.70 | 1.90best 1.91Brisbane Lions -7.5 | 1.90Over 182.5 |
Highlighted: TAB has the best price, or shares it. AFL best bets.
What we found
Strengths 6
Things to know 8
AFL best price share
TAB matched the best available AFL price on 54.95% of 1,112 comparable prices across 218 matches in 2026, ranking 2nd of 12 bookmakers on best-price share and 2nd on mean margin (5.23%).
No published payment fees
No Tabcorp fee is published on any deposit or withdrawal method for Australian residents; the only listed charge is $20.00 for EFT to an international bank account.
Same-day EFT cut-off published
EFT withdrawals requested before 12pm AEST Monday to Friday are processed the same day and generally credited by the following morning; PayPal withdrawals up to the daily limit are instant.
iOS app rating and release cadence
The iOS app is rated 4.6 from 185,228 Australian ratings and shipped 11 releases between 28 September 2025 and 22 September 2026.
Cash out across channels
Cash out, including partial cash out, is available in TAB venues, on self-service terminals, on tab.com.au and in the app, and bets placed online before the start can be cashed out in-play from the device.
In-play by phone and in venue
In-play sports betting is available 24 hours a day by voice call on 1300 408 773, and in licensed TAB venues through Tap in-play, which the ACMA found in February 2026 meets the place-based exception in the Interactive Gambling Act.
Things to know 8
Head-to-head prices rarely best
On AFL head-to-head markets TAB matched the best price on only 5.96% of 436 outcomes sampled; its 54.95% overall share comes from line (79.9% of 408) and total (96.64% of 268) markets.
Turnover rule on deposits
Deposited funds cannot be withdrawn until they have been used to bet; releasing funds that have not been turned over requires a call to 131 802 and is subject to review.
Regulatory record since 2017
Twelve regulator or court actions since 2017 are on the public record, including a $45 million AUSTRAC penalty (2017), a $4.6 million VGCCC fine (2024), three ACMA in-play findings (2021, 2024, 2026) and an AUSTRAC enforcement investigation opened in May 2026.
No 24/7 support or live chat
Phone customer service is published as Monday to Saturday 8.30am to 11pm and Sunday 8.30am to 9pm AEDT, and no live chat channel is published.
Inactive account fee
Accounts with no transaction for 13 months, plus a further month after notice, are charged an account maintenance fee of $5.50 per month.
Maximum payout not published
No maximum payout or maximum winnings figure is published for any sport; the NSW betting rules state that TAB may set any maximum stake or payout at its sole discretion.
Complaint themes in public reviews
Crashes, bugs and outages were the most one-sided complaint theme in the 500 App Store reviews analysed (53 of 71 mentions negative), followed by account restrictions (7 of 8) and login problems (11 of 17).
Same Game Multi and streaming limits
Same Game Multi is pre-game only, cannot be cashed out, is capped at 20 legs and is not offered by phone or in retail; AFL is not named on any TAB streaming page, where NFL is the only sport listed.
Checked 28 Sep 2026 against 12 sources
TAB at a glance
- AFL best price, 2026
- 54.9% of 1,112 prices, 2 of 12
- Within 2% of best
- 69.5%
- Average AFL margin
- 5.23%, 2 of 12 (lower is better)
- AFL matches priced
- 218 of 218
- Australian licence
- Yes, State and territory wagering regulators (Liquor & Gaming NSW, VGCCC and five others)
- Licence holder
- TAB Limited (NSW); Tabcorp Vic Pty Ltd (VIC); Tabcorp ACT Pty Ltd (ACT); UBET NT Pty Ltd; UBET QLD Limited; UBET SA Pty Ltd; UBET Tas Pty Ltd
- Minimum deposit
- $1.00
- Deposit methods
- Debit Card, PayPal, Apple Pay, Google Pay, PayID, BPAY, Debit card by phone, Cash at a TAB venue, EFT, Cheque or money order
- Withdrawal methods
- EFT, PayPal, Cash at a TAB venue, Cheque or money order
- Stated withdrawal processing
- Requests before 12pm AEST Monday to Friday are processed the same day and generally credited by the following morning; weekend or after-12pm requests are processed the next working day
- iOS app
- Yes, v12.38.0
- Android app
- Google Play, Australian storefront
- Live streaming
- Yes
- Same game multi
- Yes
- Cash out
- Yes
- Support channels
- contact form, phone, post, help centre
TAB is the Tabcorp Holdings Limited wagering brand, licensed separately in each of seven states and territories rather than in the Northern Territory, with the account contracting entity set by the customer's jurisdiction. Its published EFT withdrawal cut-off is 12pm AEST on weekdays for same-day processing, no Tabcorp fee is charged on any deposit or withdrawal method for Australian residents, and the iOS app carries 185,228 Australian ratings. In the OzFootball 2026 AFL price sample TAB matched the best available price on 54.95% of 1,112 comparable prices, second of 12 bookmakers measured.
Checked 28 Sep 2026 against 11 sources
TAB withdrawals and withdrawal times
"Stated processing" is TAB's own published wording. Bank or card clearing time is separate and not controlled by the bookmaker. Delays reported by customers are counted in the public sentiment section, not here.
| Method | Minimum | Stated processing | Fees | Conditions |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| EFT | No limit | Requests before 12pm AEST Monday to Friday are processed the same day and generally credited by the following morning; weekend or after-12pm requests are processed the next working day | No charge for Australian bank accounts; $20.00 for international bank accounts | Bank account must be in the account holder's name; one linked account at a time; some banks (Citibank, IMB, Suncorp, CUA, Virgin, HSBC) do not allow transactions with gambling providers; deposited funds must have been turned over. Max No limit |
| PayPal | $0.01 | Instant up to the daily limit | No charge | Only to the PayPal account used to deposit; PayPal account in the account holder's name; amounts above the daily limit must go by EFT. Max Daily limit $1,000 to $10,000 depending on account tier and verification status |
| Cash at a TAB venue | No limit | In person with a digital or physical TAB account card | No charge | Government photo ID may be requested and is required for $5,000 or more in cash (Conditions of Use 26). Max No limit |
| Cheque or money order | No limit | Not stated | No charge | Listed in the Account fees table; the Victorian licence FAQ says refunds of $1,000 or more without a digital method are returned by cheque to the residential address. Max No limit |
Checked 28 Sep 2026 against 4 sources
TAB deposit methods
| Method | Minimum | Instant | Fees | Conditions |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Debit Card | $1.00 | Yes | No charge (Tabcorp fees table) | Max $20,000 per day online for Bronze, Silver and Gold accounts; $50,000 Platinum; $100,000 Diamond. Card must be in the account holder's name and issued in Australia or New Zealand. The Account fees page shows a $1,000.00 daily maximum "which can be raised at the discretion of TAB"; the Debit Card Deposit Limits page shows the tiered figures. Both recorded as published. Deposits must be turned over before withdrawal. Listed by TAB as "Visa or Mastercard debit only" |
| PayPal | $1.00 (PayPal FAQ) or $2.00 (Daily Limits page) | Yes | No charge | Max Combined PayPal, Apple Pay and Google Pay daily limit: $1,000 (unverified) to $100,000 (verified Premium or Diamond). PayPal account must be in the account holder's name and registered in Australia or New Zealand; since 7 May 2024 only PayPal accounts linked to a debit card or bank account are accepted. Two minimums are published on different pages |
| Apple Pay | $1.00 (Apple Pay FAQ) or $2.00 (Daily Limits page) | Yes | No charge | Max Shares the combined PayPal, Apple Pay and Google Pay daily limit ($1,000 to $100,000 by account tier). iOS app or Safari on tab.com.au; Visa or Mastercard debit card in Apple Wallet |
| Google Pay | $2.00 | Yes | No charge | Max Shares the combined PayPal, Apple Pay and Google Pay daily limit ($1,000 to $100,000 by account tier). Android TAB app only; Google Pay account must be linked to a Visa or Mastercard debit card in the account holder's name |
| PayID | $2.00 | Yes | No charge | Processing: Instant in most cases Max Not stated. Not available to South Australian account holders. Bank account must be in the same name as the TAB account. Bank gambling blocks do not apply to PayID transfers |
| BPAY | $20.00 | No | No charge | Processing: 1-3 banking business days Max No limit (Account fees table). Unique BPAY reference per account |
| Debit card by phone | $1.00 | Yes | No charge | Max $250 to $50,000 per day depending on account tier and whether the card is verified. Registering a card by IVR is not available to Victorian account holders. Listed by TAB as "IVR 1800 446 003 or Touchtone" |
| Cash at a TAB venue | No limit | Yes | No charge | Processing: In person Max No limit. TAB agencies, PubTABs and ClubTABs in NSW, VIC, ACT, QLD, SA, NT and TAS. Cash deposits or withdrawals of $5,000 or more require government photo ID (Conditions of Use 26.2) |
| EFT | No limit | Not verified | No charge for Australian residents; currency charges may apply for international residents | Processing: Not stated Max No limit. Listed in the Account fees table only; no how-to page for EFT deposits was found on the help centre. Listed by TAB as "bank transfer deposit" |
| Cheque or money order | No limit | No | No charge | Processing: Credited once cleared Max No limit. NSW Betting Rules: a cheque deposit is not credited until TAB is satisfied it has cleared |
Checked 28 Sep 2026 against 11 sources
Account verification
- Required before withdrawal
- Yes
- Timeframe
- Not currently verified
- Documents
- Australian driver licence or proof of age card with address and photo on its own; otherwise one tier 1 plus one tier 2, one tier 1 plus one secondary, or one tier 2 plus two secondary documents. Passport current or up to 2 years expired; secondary documents 3 to 12 months old. Bank statements, mobile or internet bills, Keypass and credit card statements are not accepted
- Australian rule
- Identity must be verified before an online gambling account is created or a bet placed (pre-verification)
Checked 28 Sep 2026 against 3 sources
Is TAB legal in Australia?
Yes. TAB is operated in Australia by TAB Limited (NSW); Tabcorp Vic Pty Ltd (VIC); Tabcorp ACT Pty Ltd (ACT); UBET NT Pty Ltd; UBET QLD Limited; UBET SA Pty Ltd; UBET Tas Pty Ltd under a licence from the State and territory wagering regulators (Liquor & Gaming NSW, VGCCC and five others). It appears on the regulator's list of licensed wagering operators and on the ACMA register of licensed interactive gambling providers.
- Trading name
- TAB (tab.com.au)
- Licence holder
- TAB Limited (NSW); Tabcorp Vic Pty Ltd (VIC); Tabcorp ACT Pty Ltd (ACT); UBET NT Pty Ltd; UBET QLD Limited; UBET SA Pty Ltd; UBET Tas Pty Ltd
- Legal entity
- Tabcorp Holdings Limited group. The entity that contracts for a TAB account depends on the account jurisdiction: TAB Limited (NSW), Tabcorp VIC Pty Ltd (VIC), Tabcorp ACT Pty Ltd (ACT), UBET NT Pty Ltd, UBET QLD Limited, UBET SA Pty Ltd or UBET TAS Pty Ltd
- Licensing authority
- State and territory wagering regulators (Liquor & Gaming NSW, VGCCC and five others)
- Licence status
- Listed on the ACMA register under seven state and territory licences
- Regulator register
- View the register entry
- Company number
- TAB Limited ABN 17 081 765 308; Tabcorp VIC Pty Ltd ABN 95 668 057 056; Tabcorp ACT Pty Ltd ABN 19 167 957 002; parent Tabcorp Holdings Limited ABN 66 063 780 709
- Registered office
- Tabcorp Holdings Limited: Level 19, Tower 2, 727 Collins Street, Melbourne VIC 3008
- ACMA licensed provider list
- Yes
- BetStop self-exclusion applies
- Yes
- Complaints escalation
- After TAB's internal review, the state or territory regulator for the account jurisdiction: VGCCC (VIC), Liquor & Gaming NSW, ACT Gambling and Racing Commission, Northern Territory Racing Commission, SA Consumer and Business Services, Tasmanian Liquor and Gaming Commission, or Queensland OLGR
Regulator and court actions on the public record
- March 2017: the Federal Court ordered Tab Ltd, Tabcorp Holdings Ltd and Tabcorp Wagering (Vic) Pty Ltd to pay a $45 million civil penalty under the AML/CTF Act, following AUSTRAC proceedings begun in July 2015.
- November 2021: the ACMA issued Tabcorp a formal warning for accepting 37 online in-play bets on an NCAA college basketball game on 3 January 2021.
- September 2023: the VGCCC fined Tabcorp Wagering (VIC) Pty Ltd $1 million for not complying with two Commission directions issued during its investigation of the November 2020 wagering system outage (about 36 hours).
- September 2023: the Downing Centre Local Court convicted Tabcorp Holdings Limited and fined it $15,000 for publishing a gambling inducement to non-account holders on its website, following Liquor & Gaming NSW action.
- June 2024: the Melbourne Magistrates' Court ordered Tabcorp to pay $370,417 after it pleaded guilty to 43 charges of failing to prevent a 17-year-old gambling across 13 Victorian venues and failing to supervise its electronic betting terminals.
- August 2024: the VGCCC fined Tabcorp Wagering (Vic) Pty Ltd $4.6 million for repeated breaches of its licence and Responsible Gambling Code of Conduct between August 2020 and February 2023, and directed a transformation program.
- November 2024: Tabcorp paid $262,920 (14 ACMA infringement notices) for accepting 854 online in-play bets across 69 tennis matches between April and October 2023, caused by a system bug; all bets were voided.
- January 2026: Tabcorp paid $112,680 and gave an enforceable undertaking after the ACMA found it opened 2 accounts for BetStop-registered people and provided services to registered people on 47 days in 2024.
- February 2026: Tabcorp paid $158,400 (8 ACMA infringement notices) and gave an enforceable undertaking after accepting 426 online in-play bets across 32 tennis matches between February 2024 and June 2025; the ACMA called it the third in-play breach since 2021.
- February 2026: the ACMA found Tabcorp's in-venue Tap in-play service is not a prohibited service because it meets the place-based betting exception in section 8BA of the IGA.
- May 2026: Tabcorp told the ASX that AUSTRAC has "serious concerns" about its ability to manage money laundering and terrorism financing risks and has commenced an enforcement investigation into its AML/CTF program and customer monitoring; outcome open at the time of research.
- September 2026: the VGCCC fined Tabcorp VIC Pty Ltd $350,000 for not fully implementing mandatory multi-factor authentication between 30 January and 23 June 2025; some accounts were accessed without authorisation and money withdrawn, and affected customers were reimbursed.
Rules that apply to every Australian online bookmaker
- Online in-play betting on sporting events is a prohibited interactive gambling service; a telephone betting service conducted wholly by voice call is excluded from the prohibition
- Credit cards, credit-linked funds (including digital wallets) and digital currency cannot be used for online or telephone wagering from 11 June 2024
- Customer identification must be completed before an online gambling account is created or a designated service provided (from 29 September 2024; interim arrangements from 29 September 2023)
- Online gambling providers cannot offer incentives to open an account or to refer another person to open an account (NCPF Measure 4)
- BetStop registration excludes the person from all Australian-licensed online and phone wagering providers; providers must close accounts and must not accept bets, open accounts or send marketing
- All online wagering providers must use one of seven national taglines with a call to action in advertising, direct marketing, websites and other communications (NCPF Measure 8, from 30 March 2023)
Checked 28 Sep 2026 against 22 sources
TAB app
iOS (Apple App Store)
- Developer
- TABCORP WAGERING VIC PTY LTD
- Rating
- 4.6 from 185,228 ratings
- Version
- 12.38.0
- Version date
- 21 Sep 2026
- Requires
- iOS 14.0
- Distribution
- Apple App Store, Australian storefront
- Size
- 162 MB
- Updates, last 12 months
- 11
Android
- Developer
- Tabcorp Holdings Ltd.
- Rating
- 4.4 from 19,764 ratings
- Version
- 12.38.0
- Version date
- 14 Sep 2026
- Requires
- Android 7.1 or above
- Distribution
- Google Play, Australian storefront
- Installs
- 500,000+
Store figures are read from the store listing on the date shown and are the store's own averages, not an OzFootball rating.
Checked 28 Sep 2026 against 4 sources
Features and Australian restrictions
| Feature | Status | Detail |
|---|---|---|
| Live streaming | Available | Sky Racing channels (Sky1, Sky2, Sky Central), Sky Sports Radio and Radio TAB; NFL when in season; "the best of US sports in Sky Plus" |
| AFL live streaming | Not verified | |
| Cash out | Available | Some single and multi fixed odds bets plus Quaddie and Early Quaddie; full or partial; in venues, on self-service terminals, on tab.com.au and in the app; not on super multis, bonus bets, trackside, Hong Kong Quaddies or other tote bets, and not on Same Game Multis |
| Same game multi | Available | 20 legs per Same Game Multi; combined SGMs in an all-up multi also capped at 20 legs |
| Edit bet | Not verified | |
| In-play betting online | Not available | Online in-play betting on sporting events is a prohibited interactive gambling service; a telephone betting service conducted wholly by voice call is excluded from the prohibition |
| In-play betting by phone | Available | Live Betting phone line 1300 408 773 (voice call, 24 x 7, $10 minimum for live bets); in licensed TAB venues, Tap in-play lets customers build a bet in the app and tap the device at an in-venue station |
| Match live tracker | Not verified | |
| Minimum stake | Available | $1.00 for sports bets; 50c for tote bets by phone; $10 for live (in-play) phone bets; $40 for operator-assisted phone bets |
Checked 28 Sep 2026 against 7 sources
TAB customer support
| Channel | Detail | Hours |
|---|---|---|
| Contact form | "Email Us" form at the foot of every help centre page; complaints can also be lodged through it | Not stated |
| Telephone | 131 802 (international customer service +61 2 8863 5320) | Mon-Sat 8.30am-11pm, Sun 8.30am-9pm (AEDT) |
| Telephone | 1300 408 773, in-play sports betting by voice call; $10 minimum for live bets | 24 x 7 |
| Telephone | 133 390; $40 minimum bet with an operator | Mon-Sat 8.30am-11pm, Sun 8.30am-9pm (AEDT) |
| Telephone | Interactive voice and keypad betting; 50c tote minimum, $1 fixed odds and sports minimum, $9,999.50 maximum phone bet | Phone betting systems shut down daily 5.30am to 7.00am AEST |
| Post | Locked Bag 7000, Granville NSW 2142 | Not stated |
| Help centre | https://help.tab.com.au | Not stated |
Channels and hours as published by TAB. OzFootball has not measured response times .
Checked 28 Sep 2026 against 5 sources
What customers say about TAB
500 publicly available reviews analysed, 28 Sep 2026. These are third-party opinions, not OzFootball reviews, and a theme count does not verify any individual claim.
Positive themes
| App usability and design | 72 | |
| Promotions, bonuses and rewards | 51 | |
| Market range and sports coverage | 37 | |
| Odds, prices and margins | 19 | |
| Crashes, bugs and outages | 8 | |
| Live streaming and match tracking | 6 |
Negative themes
| Crashes, bugs and outages | 53 | |
| App usability and design | 40 | |
| Market range and sports coverage | 36 | |
| Promotions, bonuses and rewards | 24 | |
| Odds, prices and margins | 24 | |
| Live streaming and match tracking | 12 |
Method: Keyword rules (see TAXONOMY in scripts/research/classify-reviews.mjs) matched case-insensitively against review title + body. A review can hit several themes. Reviews with no keyword hit are counted as other. Sentiment from star rating: 4-5 positive, 1-2 negative, 3 neutral. Source for the theme table: the 500 App Store AU written reviews only. Google Play written reviews were not collected (no scraper used). ProductReview, Trustpilot and Reddit are reported as aggregates or thread counts only.
These are third-party public opinions, not OzFootball reviews, and none has been verified with TAB or a regulator. A theme count shows what reviewers write about, not that any individual allegation is true.
App-store written reviews are self-selected and skew to the extremes: 76% of the 500 classified reviews are 1-star or 5-star. The store-wide averages (4.62 on the App Store AU from 185,228 ratings, 4.4 on Google Play from 19,764) come from far larger pools that include people who never wrote a review.
Only App Store reviews were classified (500). Google Play written reviews were not collected because no third-party scraper was used; the Play listing figures are aggregates read from the public page.
Keyword classification is approximate. Short reviews with no diagnostic words fall into "other" (183 of 500). Rules are in scripts/research/classify-reviews.mjs and can be re-run.
No usable ProductReview.com.au listing exists for TAB, the Trustpilot listing for tabcorp.com.au has 4 reviews and the tab.com.au listing has none. None of these measures Australian sentiment.
Reddit counts come from undated site-restricted web searches on an ambiguous word; the Australian-context subset is small and titles only were classified.
All figures were retrieved on 2026-09-28 and will drift; chart positions change daily.
TAB compared with other Australian bookmakers
| Metric | ||||
|---|---|---|---|---|
| AFL best-price frequency, 2026 | 54.9% | 84.8% | 41.3% | 38.1% |
| AFL match coverage, 2026 | 100% | 98% | 100% | 100% |
| Licence verified | State and territory wagering regulators (Liquor & Gaming NSW, VGCCC and five others) | Northern Territory Wagering Commission | Northern Territory Wagering Commission | Tasmanian Liquor and Gaming Commission |
| iOS rating | 4.6 (185,228) | 4.5 (6,490) | 4.7 (2,191) | 4.6 (22,892) |
Comparators are the three bookmakers with the highest measured AFL best-price frequency in 2026. Every value comes from a verified dataset; a blank means it has not been measured for that bookmaker.
Who TAB may suit
- Customers who bet AFL line and total markets: TAB matched the best price on 79.9% of line outcomes and 96.64% of total outcomes sampled in 2026, against 5.96% of head-to-head outcomes.
- Customers who want a retail option: TAB accounts can deposit, withdraw, bet and cash out in TAB venues with a digital or physical account card, as well as online.
- Customers who withdraw by EFT on weekdays and want a published same-day cut-off (12pm AEST) with no Tabcorp fee.
TAB alternatives
Research, sources and changes
Recent TAB changes
No verified changes to TAB's published product information since monitoring began on 28 Sep 2026. Official pages are re-checked on a schedule; a change appears here only after a person has confirmed it.
Research methodology
What we checked ourselves
- Read and quoted 47 TAB help centre pages (help.tab.com.au), including the Conditions of Use, the NSW, VIC and ACT betting rules, the Cash Out terms and the account fees table, 28 September 2026.
- Checked the operator against the live ACMA register CSV (219 rows, seven TAB entries), the saved NT licensed operators list (row 43, Ubet NT), the Liquor & Gaming NSW wagering page and the VGCCC wagering licence page.
- Read the Apple App Store (AU) listing through the iTunes Lookup API and the store page, and the Google Play (AU) listing page with a browser user agent.
- Classified the 500 most recent App Store AU written reviews by theme with the fixed keyword rule set, recorded the Google Play aggregate figures, checked ProductReview and Trustpilot, and counted Reddit threads from site-restricted searches.
- Compiled the regulatory history from ACMA, VGCCC, Liquor & Gaming NSW and AUSTRAC pages and Tabcorp's 7 May 2026 ASX announcement.
- Sampled AFL prices from The Odds API 30 times across the 2026 season and computed best-price frequency and margin for every bookmaker in the feed, including TAB.
What we have not tested
- Opening an account, depositing, withdrawing, or contacting support.
- Phone or email response times.
- Installing either app on a device in Australia.
- Pages on tab.com.au itself (AFL FAQ, live betting, Tap in-play, app page), which the site withholds from non-Australian IP addresses; help centre pages were used instead.
- Google Play written reviews, which were not collected because no scraper was used.
- Verification turnaround times, which TAB does not publish.
- Data last checked
- 28 Sep 2026
- Facts verified
- 144
- Sources on file
- 85, available on request
Full method, source hierarchy, update frequency and corrections process: bookmaker research methodology.
Affiliate disclosure: OzFootball has no affiliate agreement with any bookmaker at the time of writing. If that changes, links on this page will be marked and this notice updated. Affiliate arrangements never influence the measurements or methodology on this page.
TAB FAQ
Is TAB legal in Australia, and who regulates it?
Yes. TAB appears on the ACMA register of licensed interactive gambling providers seven times, once for each state and territory licence: TAB Limited (Liquor & Gaming NSW), Tabcorp Vic Pty Ltd (Victorian Gambling and Casino Control Commission), Tabcorp ACT Pty Ltd (ACT Gambling and Racing Commission), and UBET NT, QLD, SA and Tas entities under their respective regulators. TAB is not a Northern Territory-licensed sports bookmaker; the NT entry is a totalisator licence. The account jurisdiction chosen at sign-up decides which entity and regulator apply, and it cannot be changed later.
Who owns TAB?
TAB is operated by subsidiaries of Tabcorp Holdings Limited (ABN 66 063 780 709), an ASX-listed company with its registered office at Level 19, Tower 2, 727 Collins Street, Melbourne. The entity that contracts for an account depends on the jurisdiction: TAB Limited in NSW, Tabcorp VIC Pty Ltd in Victoria, Tabcorp ACT Pty Ltd in the ACT, and UBET NT Pty Ltd, UBET QLD Limited, UBET SA Pty Ltd or UBET TAS Pty Ltd elsewhere.
How long does a TAB withdrawal take, and is there a cap?
EFT withdrawal requests received before 12pm AEST Monday to Friday are processed the same day and are generally credited by the following morning; later or weekend requests are processed the next working day. PayPal withdrawals up to the account's daily limit ($1,000 to $10,000 by tier and verification status) are instant, and larger amounts must go by EFT, for which the Account fees page lists no maximum for Australian residents. Cash withdrawals are available in TAB venues. TAB charges no fee on any of these for Australian residents. Deposited funds can only be withdrawn once they have been used to bet, so the withdrawable balance can be lower than the account balance; untouched funds can be released by calling 131 802. Withdrawal delays were mentioned in 3 of the 500 App Store reviews analysed.
Does TAB require identity verification?
Yes. TAB states that under the Anti-Money Laundering and Counter-Terrorism Financing Act 2006 an account cannot be opened or accessed without identity verification, and new accounts are blocked for withdrawals until verification is complete. In the app a driver licence, Australian passport, working visa or Medicare card can be used; otherwise documents can be sent to [email protected], presented in a TAB venue, or posted as certified copies. Bank statements, mobile or internet bills, Keypass and credit card statements are not accepted. No verification turnaround time is published. Since 29 September 2024 AUSTRAC requires online gambling providers to complete customer identification before an account is opened or a service provided.
Can I use a credit card on TAB?
No. Credit cards, credit-linked funds (including digital wallets) and digital currency have been banned for online and telephone wagering in Australia since 11 June 2024, and TAB stopped accepting credit card deposits across all methods, including Apple Pay, Google Pay and PayPal, on 10 June 2024. TAB accepts Visa and Mastercard debit cards issued in Australia or New Zealand, PayPal, Apple Pay, Google Pay, PayID (not for SA account holders), BPAY, debit card by phone, and cash at TAB venues. Prepaid cards are not accepted.
Does TAB have a sign-up bonus or bonus code?
No. Under the National Consumer Protection Framework for online wagering, online gambling providers cannot offer any incentive to open an account or to refer someone else to open one. That has applied since 26 May 2019 (26 November 2019 in New South Wales). Tabcorp was convicted and fined $15,000 in NSW in September 2023 for publishing an inducement to non-account holders. OzFootball does not publish promotional offers.
Will TAB limit or close my account if I win?
TAB's Conditions of Use say it may refuse any proposed bet without notice or reasons, may place limits on the bets a customer can make per day, week or month, and may request source of funds or wealth information where it detects unusual behaviour. It publishes no policy on limiting winning accounts. Account restrictions or closures were mentioned in 8 of the 500 App Store reviews analysed, 7 of them negative. Those are third-party reports and do not establish how often it happens.
How do I contact TAB or make a complaint?
Customer service is on 131 802, Monday to Saturday 8.30am to 11pm and Sunday 8.30am to 9pm AEDT; there is an Email Us form on every help centre page and a postal address at Locked Bag 7000, Granville NSW 2142. No live chat is published. Complaints get an emailed reference number within 5 days and an outcome within 21 days. After TAB's internal review, a complaint can go to the regulator for the account jurisdiction: the VGCCC, Liquor & Gaming NSW, the ACT Gambling and Racing Commission, the Northern Territory Racing Commission, SA Consumer and Business Services, the Tasmanian Liquor and Gaming Commission or Queensland OLGR.
Has TAB been fined or investigated in Australia?
Yes, repeatedly. The public record includes a $45 million Federal Court penalty under AML/CTF laws in March 2017; VGCCC fines of $1 million (2023), $4.6 million (2024) and $350,000 (September 2026); a $370,417 court order over a minor gambling in Victorian venues (2024); a $15,000 NSW conviction for an inducement (2023); ACMA penalties of $262,920 (2024) and $158,400 (2026) for accepting online in-play bets, plus a formal warning in 2021; and a $112,680 ACMA penalty with an enforceable undertaking for BetStop breaches (January 2026). In May 2026 Tabcorp disclosed that AUSTRAC had opened an enforcement investigation into its AML/CTF program, with the outcome open at the time of research.
What is the maximum payout on TAB?
TAB does not publish a maximum payout or maximum winnings table for any sport. The NSW Betting Rules state that TAB may set any minimum or maximum stake or payout at its sole and absolute discretion. The only published maximum is $9,999.50 for a bet placed through the Touchtone phone service. The minimum sports bet is $1.00.
Is TAB or Sportsbet better for AFL odds?
On the 2026 OzFootball sample, TAB matched the best available price on 54.95% of 1,112 comparable AFL prices with a mean margin of 5.23%, while Sportsbet matched it on 37.0% of 1,100 prices with a mean margin of 5.51%. TAB ranked 2nd and Sportsbet 5th of 12 bookmakers on best-price share. TAB's advantage was in line and total markets; on head-to-head prices its best-price share was 5.96%. The full ranking is on this page.
Can I bet in-play with TAB?
Online in-play betting on sport is prohibited in Australia. TAB takes in-play sports bets by voice call on 1300 408 773, published as available 24 hours a day with a $10 minimum, and in licensed TAB venues through Tap in-play, where the bet is built in the app and placed by tapping the phone at an in-venue station. The ACMA found in February 2026 that Tap in-play meets the place-based betting exception in the Interactive Gambling Act. Bets placed online before the start can be cashed out in-play from the device; bets placed live by phone must be cashed out by phone.
Data last checked 28 Sep 2026. Live prices are read from the odds feed at page render and are not part of the verified fact count.
Gamble Responsibly
Think! About your choices. Set a deposit limit. Gambling problem? Call Gambler's Help 1800 858 858 or visit gamblinghelponline.org.au. Odds and markets shown for informational purposes only. OzFootball Stats does not accept wagers. 18+ only.
18+. Gamble responsibly.
Gambler's Help 1800 858 858.