Betfair AFL Odds and Review
Independent bookmaker research, live AFL pricing and verified Australian product information.
- Data last checked
- 28 Sep 2026
- Facts verified
- 93
- Sources checked
- 64
How competitive are Betfair's AFL odds?
- Best price
- 84.8%
- 1 of 12 bookmakers
- Within 2% of best
- 93.5%
- within 1%: 90.0%
- Mean margin
- 1.87%
- 1 of 12 (lower is better)
- Match coverage
- 98%
- 214 of 218 matches
| Market | Prices | Best price | Within 2% | Mean margin |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Head-to-head | 428 | 84.8% | 93.5% | 1.87% |
| Line | not posted | |||
| Totals | not posted |
Best-price share by round
Season average 84.8%
100.0% best price, 2 prices
margin 1.59%
88.9% best price, 18 prices
margin 1.52%
100.0% best price, 14 prices
margin 0.54%
92.9% best price, 14 prices
margin 1.03%
68.8% best price, 16 prices
margin 1.65%
94.4% best price, 18 prices
margin 1.16%
83.3% best price, 18 prices
margin 1.07%
94.4% best price, 18 prices
margin 0.91%
88.9% best price, 18 prices
margin 1.38%
83.3% best price, 18 prices
margin 0.85%
77.8% best price, 18 prices
margin 1.81%
77.8% best price, 18 prices
margin 1.59%
85.7% best price, 14 prices
margin 1.69%
87.5% best price, 16 prices
margin 1.25%
78.6% best price, 14 prices
margin 1.38%
57.1% best price, 14 prices
margin 2.42%
100.0% best price, 14 prices
margin 1.38%
66.7% best price, 18 prices
margin 13.95%
94.4% best price, 18 prices
margin 1.69%
94.4% best price, 18 prices
margin 1.06%
83.3% best price, 18 prices
margin 0.91%
88.9% best price, 18 prices
margin 0.89%
77.8% best price, 18 prices
margin 2.53%
72.2% best price, 18 prices
margin 1.82%
83.3% best price, 18 prices
margin 1.18%
75.0% best price, 4 prices
margin 0.61%
100.0% best price, 8 prices
margin 0.74%
100.0% best price, 4 prices
margin 0.37%
100.0% best price, 4 prices
margin 0.48%
100.0% best price, 2 prices
margin 0.54%
Hover or tap a bar for the round's figures.
AFL best-price frequency, 2026 season
1,366 comparable prices across 218 matches, 30 snapshots, 24h before each round's first match. A bookmaker with a row here posted prices in the feed; a bookmaker without one did not.
| # | Bookmaker | Best price | Margin |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 84.8% | 1.87% | |
| 2 | 54.9% | 5.23% | |
| 3 | 41.3% | 5.23% | |
| 4 | 38.1% | 5.26% | |
| 5 | 37.0% | 5.51% | |
| 6 | 35.5% | 5.37% | |
| 7 | 30.2% | 5.66% | |
| 8 | 10.0% | 5.86% | |
| 9 | 9.4% | 6.15% | |
| 10 | 6.4% | 5.28% | |
| 11 | 6.4% | 5.28% | |
| 12 | 2.3% | 6.68% |
Exchange prices are before commission. Ties for best price count for every bookmaker at that price. Method and limits on the bookmaker research methodology page.
Betfair live AFL and AFLW pricing
- AFL fixtures priced right now
- 0Current Betfair AFL odds
- AFLW fixtures priced right now
- 0 of 9 in the feedAFLW odds
Compare every tracked bookmaker on the AFL odds comparison, premiership odds, Grand Final odds and player props pages, or work a price through the bookmaker margin calculator and devig calculator.
Betfair AFL odds, last round's closing prices
- Best or equal best
- 100.0%
- of Betfair's prices, against 9 other books
- Head to head margin
- 0.5%
- average this round, lower is better
| Match | Home | Away | Line | Over |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fremantle Dockers vs Brisbane LionsSat 26 Sep | 2.34 | 1.73 | - | - |
Highlighted: Betfair has the best price, or shares it. AFL best bets.
What we found
Strengths 6
Things to know 8
Best AFL prices measured
Betfair matched the best available AFL head-to-head price in 84.8% of 428 comparable prices across 214 of 218 sampled 2026 matches, with a mean margin of 1.87%, ranking first of 12 bookmakers on both measures (exchange prices before commission).
Commission only on winnings
Commission is charged only on net winnings per market: 6% on sport and international racing, 10% on NRL, 8% or 10% on Australian racing; a losing market pays no commission.
Free withdrawals, times published
Withdrawals are published as free: bank transfer from $15 in 1 to 3 working days and PayPal within 24 hours.
24/7 phone lines published
The call centre (1300 238 324) and the telephone betting line (132 238) are published as available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
App ratings and release cadence
The iOS app is rated 4.5 from 6,490 Australian ratings and shipped 5 releases in the 12 months to 28 September 2026; the Google Play listing shows 4.3 from about 1,157 ratings and was updated on 21 September 2026.
Cash out and bet control
Cash Out and Auto Cash Out are offered on selected Exchange markets, and unmatched bets can be amended or cancelled before they are matched.
Things to know 8
Sport in-play by phone only
Online in-play betting on sport is prohibited in Australia; Betfair's sport in-play bets must be phoned through on 132 238 with a $50 minimum telephone stake, while racing in-play is available online.
Premium, turnover and inactivity charges
Some accounts pay more than commission: a Premium Charge of 20% or 40% of gross profit above the AUD equivalent of £25,000 over 52 active weeks, a Turnover Charge of 3.0% on NSW thoroughbred and 2.5% on NRL back-bet turnover, and a $10 monthly inactive account fee after 13 months without a login.
Deposit methods reduced in 2024
Three deposit methods remain (debit card, PayPal, Osko) after BPAY, bank transfer deposits and Skrill deposits were withdrawn between May and June 2024.
No card withdrawals
Cards issued in Australia cannot receive withdrawals; bank transfer and PayPal are the only two withdrawal methods published, and no maximum withdrawal amount is published for either.
2024 and 2025 regulator penalties
The ACMA issued an $871,660 spam penalty in July 2025 with a two-year court-enforceable undertaking, and the NT Racing Commission imposed two fines of $24,174 on 24 June 2024 for responsible gambling breaches.
Complaint themes in app reviews
App usability (41 of 61 mentions negative) and market range (24 of 33) were the most common complaint themes in the 162 App Store reviews analysed, and 83 of the 162 reviews were 1-star.
No streaming published
No live streaming, racing vision or match tracker product is described on any Betfair Australia page checked.
Head-to-head only, before commission
Only head-to-head prices were sampled for Betfair (0 line or totals outcomes in the dataset), and the exchange prices are shown before the 6% commission on winnings.
Checked 28 Sep 2026 against 12 sources
Betfair at a glance
- AFL best price, 2026
- 84.8% of 428 prices, 1 of 12
- Within 2% of best
- 93.5%
- Average AFL margin
- 1.87%, 1 of 12 (lower is better)
- AFL matches priced
- 214 of 218
- Australian licence
- Yes, Northern Territory Wagering Commission
- Licence holder
- Betfair Pty Ltd, trading as Betfair
- Minimum deposit
- $10
- Deposit methods
- Debit card, PayPal, Osko
- Withdrawal methods
- Bank Transfer, PayPal
- Stated withdrawal processing
- 1-3 working days
- iOS app
- Yes, v2.0.2
- Android app
- Google Play, Australian storefront
- Live streaming
- Not currently verified
- Same game multi
- Yes
- Cash out
- Yes
- Support channels
- phone, email, live chat, post, help centre
Betfair in Australia is Betfair Pty Limited (ACN 110 084 985), a betting exchange holding a betting exchange licence and a sports bookmaker licence from the Northern Territory Wagering Commission, and listed on the ACMA register; it moved from Tasmania to the Northern Territory in September 2016. It charges commission on net winnings at a Market Base Rate of 6% on sport including AFL, offers two withdrawal methods (bank transfer in 1 to 3 working days, PayPal within 24 hours) with no fee, and publishes its call centre and telephone betting line as 24/7. Its AFL head-to-head prices matched the best available price in 84.8% of 428 comparable prices sampled across the 2026 season, first of the 12 bookmakers measured, before commission.
Checked 28 Sep 2026 against 9 sources
Betfair withdrawals and withdrawal times
"Stated processing" is Betfair's own published wording. Bank or card clearing time is separate and not controlled by the bookmaker. Delays reported by customers are counted in the public sentiment section, not here.
| Method | Minimum | Stated processing | Fees | Conditions |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bank Transfer | $15 | 1-3 working days | Free | Bank account details are added under Payments > Withdraw > Alternative Methods and saved for later withdrawals. |
| PayPal | $15 (deposits and withdrawals table); the PayPal help page says $5 | Up to 24 hours | Free | Must withdraw to the same PayPal account used to deposit, at least up to the amount deposited via PayPal; AUD only. |
Checked 28 Sep 2026 against 2 sources
Betfair deposit methods
| Method | Minimum | Instant | Fees | Conditions |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Debit card | $10 | Yes | Free (no processing fee charged by Betfair; banks may charge cash advance fees; currency conversion fees may apply) | Cards issued in Australia cannot be used for withdrawals. Credit cards, cheques and third-party payments are rejected. two card logos on the page, brand names not in the page text |
| PayPal | $15 | Yes | Free | AUD only. One PayPal account per Betfair account. Mastercard transactions via PayPal are no longer supported. Third-party payments rejected |
| Osko | $30 | No | Free | Processing: 30 minutes to 24 hours Deposit only. Pay Anyone to [email protected] with the Betfair username as the description; the PayID name shows as THE SPORTING EXCHANGE (CLIENTS) LIMITED. Banks may hold Osko payments for up to 24 hours. PayID transfer, deposit only |
Checked 28 Sep 2026 against 7 sources
Account verification
- Required before withdrawal
- Yes
- Timeframe
- No timeframe published for the manual review; the Scantek capture "should be completed within a matter of minutes", after which a team member validates the documents and the account is created
- Documents
- Passport or Australian driver's licence as the primary document, plus a guided liveness check with facial biometrics; data stored on Australian servers
- Australian rule
- Identity must be verified before an online gambling account is created or a bet placed (pre-verification)
Checked 28 Sep 2026 against 2 sources
Is Betfair legal in Australia?
Yes. Betfair is operated in Australia by Betfair Pty Ltd, trading as Betfair under a licence from the Northern Territory Wagering Commission. It appears on the regulator's list of licensed wagering operators and on the ACMA register of licensed interactive gambling providers.
- Trading name
- Betfair (betfair.com.au)
- Licence holder
- Betfair Pty Ltd, trading as Betfair
- Legal entity
- Betfair Pty Limited
- Licensing authority
- Northern Territory Wagering Commission
- Licence status
- Listed as a licensed wagering operator
- Regulator register
- View the register entry
- Company number
- ACN 110 084 985 (ABN 30 110 084 985)
- Registered office
- Not currently verified
- ACMA licensed provider list
- Yes
- BetStop self-exclusion applies
- Yes
- Complaints escalation
- Northern Territory Wagering Commission online wagering complaint form, after Betfair's decision
Regulator and court actions on the public record
- November 2018: the Northern Territory Racing Commission found Betfair failed to recognise a customer's red-flag behaviours, ruled bets placed after a cancelled $150,000 withdrawal were unlawful and ordered the $150,000 refunded; the ABC reported the commission said it was the third time in 18 months Betfair had failed to comply with a licence condition.
- 24 June 2024: the Northern Territory Racing Commission found Betfair breached licence condition 15 by not complying with clause 3.2 of the 2019 Code of Practice for Responsible Service of Online Gambling in its dealings with a customer (Mr A) who deposited about $697,000 and bet $693,000 on the 2020 US election over seven weeks, and fined it 153 penalty units ($24,174).
- 24 June 2024: in a second decision the same day, the commission found the same breach in Betfair's dealings with another customer (Mr E) who made 106 deposits totalling about $431,520 in six weeks on the 2020 US election, and imposed a second fine of 153 penalty units ($24,174). Betfair accepted both findings and said it had changed its responsible gambling processes.
- 30 July 2025: Betfair Pty Limited paid an $871,660 ACMA infringement notice after sending 148 emails and texts between March and December 2024 to VIP program members without consent (or after consent was withdrawn) and six messages with no unsubscribe option, and entered a two-year court-enforceable undertaking covering an independent review of its marketing, staff training, quarterly audits and reporting to the ACMA.
- The ACMA's Interactive Gambling Act investigations page (outcomes 2021 to 2026) lists no investigation into Betfair Pty Ltd, and no Betfair decision appears on the NT Wagering Commission decisions page after 24 June 2024 (checked 28 September 2026).
Rules that apply to every Australian online bookmaker
- Online in-play betting on sporting events is a prohibited interactive gambling service; a telephone betting service conducted wholly by voice call is excluded from the prohibition
- Credit cards, credit-linked funds (including digital wallets) and digital currency cannot be used for online or telephone wagering from 11 June 2024
- Customer identification must be completed before an online gambling account is created or a designated service provided (from 29 September 2024; interim arrangements from 29 September 2023)
- Online gambling providers cannot offer incentives to open an account or to refer another person to open an account (NCPF Measure 4)
- BetStop registration excludes the person from all Australian-licensed online and phone wagering providers; providers must close accounts and must not accept bets, open accounts or send marketing
- All online wagering providers must use one of seven national taglines with a call to action in advertising, direct marketing, websites and other communications (NCPF Measure 8, from 30 March 2023)
Checked 28 Sep 2026 against 13 sources
Betfair app
iOS (Apple App Store)
- Developer
- Betfair Pty Ltd
- Rating
- 4.5 from 6,490 ratings
- Version
- 2.0.2
- Version date
- 23 Sep 2026
- Requires
- iOS 16.4
- Distribution
- Apple App Store, Australian storefront
- Size
- 74 MB
- Updates, last 12 months
- 5
Android
- Developer
- BETFAIR PTY LIMITED
- Rating
- 4.3 from 1,157 ratings
- Version
- Not currently verified
- Version date
- 21 Sep 2026
- Requires
- Not currently verified
- Distribution
- Google Play, Australian storefront
- Installs
- 50,000+
Store figures are read from the store listing on the date shown and are the store's own averages, not an OzFootball rating.
Checked 28 Sep 2026 against 3 sources
Features and Australian restrictions
| Feature | Status | Detail |
|---|---|---|
| Live streaming | Not verified | |
| AFL live streaming | Not verified | |
| Cash out | Available | Selected Exchange markets showing the Cash Out icon; applies per market, not per bet; Auto Cash Out lets a profit level be preset; may be unavailable at low liquidity; in-play requests are subject to the in-play bet delay |
| Same game multi | Available | Not published for Same Game Multi markets; the separate Exchange Multiples product allows 2 to 8 legs and is struck directly with Betfair at exchange-derived odds |
| Edit bet | Available | |
| In-play betting online | Not available | Online in-play betting on sporting events is a prohibited interactive gambling service; a telephone betting service conducted wholly by voice call is excluded from the prohibition |
| In-play betting by phone | Available | Sports in-play bets are placed by calling 132 BET (132 238) and quoting the Telephone Account Number; racing in-play is available online and by phone; Betfair states online in-play is also available on the AFL Brownlow Medal and politics markets |
| Match live tracker | Not verified | |
| Minimum stake | Available | $1.00 online; $50.00 by telephone |
Checked 28 Sep 2026 against 7 sources
Betfair customer support
| Channel | Detail | Hours |
|---|---|---|
| Telephone | 1300 BETFAIR (1300 238 324); international +61 132 238; missed calls from 08 8912 2333 | 24 hours a day, 7 days a week (terms), except closures due to resourcing constraints or operational interruption |
| Telephone | Telebet (telephone betting): 132 BET (132 238); quote the Telephone Account Number (TAN); minimum telephone bet $50 | 24 hours a day, 7 days a week |
| [email protected] | Not stated | |
| Live chat | Named on the group Dispute Resolution page as a way to reach Customer Services; not linked from the Australian contact page | Not stated |
| Post | GPO Box 1065, Darwin City NT 0800 | Not stated |
| Help centre | https://www.betfair.com.au/hub/help/ | Not stated |
Channels and hours as published by Betfair. OzFootball has not measured response times .
Checked 28 Sep 2026 against 4 sources
What customers say about Betfair
162 publicly available reviews analysed, 28 Sep 2026. These are third-party opinions, not OzFootball reviews, and a theme count does not verify any individual claim.
Positive themes
| App usability and design | 18 | |
| Odds, prices and margins | 12 | |
| Market range and sports coverage | 8 | |
| Crashes, bugs and outages | 5 | |
| Customer support | 2 | |
| Withdrawal process and methods | 1 |
Negative themes
| App usability and design | 41 | |
| Market range and sports coverage | 24 | |
| Odds, prices and margins | 17 | |
| Crashes, bugs and outages | 14 | |
| Withdrawal process and methods | 8 | |
| Customer support | 5 |
Method: Keyword rules (see TAXONOMY in scripts/research/classify-reviews.mjs) matched case-insensitively against review title + body. A review can hit several themes. Reviews with no keyword hit are counted as other. Sentiment from star rating: 4-5 positive, 1-2 negative, 3 neutral. Source for the theme table: the 162 App Store AU written reviews (all that exist). Google Play written reviews were not collected (no scraper used); Google Play, Trustpilot and Reddit are reported as aggregates or thread counts only.
These are third-party public opinions, not OzFootball reviews, and none has been verified with Betfair or a regulator. A theme count shows what reviewers write about, not that any individual allegation is true.
App-store written reviews are self-selected and skew to the extremes: 133 of the 162 classified reviews are 1-star or 5-star. The store-wide averages (4.54 on the App Store AU from 6,490 ratings, 4.3 on Google Play from about 1,157) come from far larger rating pools that include people who never wrote a review.
The sample is small: Betfair's App Store record has only 162 written reviews in total, spread over almost six years (September 2020 to July 2026), so theme counts are in the tens, not hundreds, and several reviews date from the 2020 to 2022 app versions.
Google Play written reviews were not analysed because no scraper was used; only the page aggregate (rating, review count, histogram, installs, update date) is recorded.
Keyword classification is approximate. Short reviews with no diagnostic words fall into other (46 of 162). Rules are in scripts/research/classify-reviews.mjs and can be re-run.
The Trustpilot listing is global (www.betfair.com) and mixes UK, Irish and other customers; the Australian-domain Trustpilot profiles have no reviews and ProductReview has no listing. None is a measure of Australian customer sentiment.
Reddit counts are thread counts from keyword searches with no date filter; 20 threads name Betfair and only 7 have explicit Australian context.
All figures were retrieved on 2026-09-28 and will drift; chart positions change daily.
Betfair compared with other Australian bookmakers
| Metric | ||||
|---|---|---|---|---|
| AFL best-price frequency, 2026 | 84.8% | 54.9% | 41.3% | 38.1% |
| AFL match coverage, 2026 | 98% | 100% | 100% | 100% |
| Licence verified | Northern Territory Wagering Commission | State and territory wagering regulators (Liquor & Gaming NSW, VGCCC and five others) | Northern Territory Wagering Commission | Tasmanian Liquor and Gaming Commission |
| iOS rating | 4.5 (6,490) | 4.6 (185,228) | 4.7 (2,191) | 4.6 (22,892) |
Comparators are the three bookmakers with the highest measured AFL best-price frequency in 2026. Every value comes from a verified dataset; a blank means it has not been measured for that bookmaker.
Who Betfair may suit
- Customers who want to back or lay AFL head-to-head outcomes at prices set by other customers, with a 6% commission on net winnings rather than a bookmaker margin.
- Customers who withdraw by bank transfer or PayPal and want a published no-fee withdrawal with a stated time.
- Customers who bet on racing in-play online; sport in-play requires a phone call with a $50 minimum stake.
Betfair alternatives
Research, sources and changes
Recent Betfair changes
No verified changes to Betfair's published product information since monitoring began on 28 Sep 2026. Official pages are re-checked on a schedule; a change appears here only after a person has confirmed it.
Research methodology
What we checked ourselves
- Read and quoted the Betfair AU terms (V 03/26, effective 1 September 2026), Betfair Charges (V 01.25), Exchange Rules, Dispute Resolution page and the hub help, FAQ and education pages listed under sources, 28 September 2026. Pages geo-blocked to non-Australian IPs were fetched with curl from Australia.
- Checked the operator against the NT Wagering Commission licensed operators list (65 rows), the ACMA register CSV, ABN Lookup and the Tasmanian Treasury licence pages.
- Read the Apple App Store (AU) listing and Lookup API record and the Google Play (AU) listing page with a browser user agent.
- Classified all 162 written App Store AU reviews by theme with a fixed keyword rule set, recorded the Google Play and Trustpilot aggregate figures, and counted Reddit threads naming Betfair from eight site-restricted searches.
- Read the NT Racing Commission decisions of 24 June 2024 and the ACMA's July 2025 media release, and checked the ACMA Interactive Gambling Act investigations page and the NT decisions page for Betfair entries.
- Sampled AFL prices from The Odds API 30 times across the 2026 season and computed best-price frequency and margin for every bookmaker in the feed, including the Betfair exchange.
What we have not tested
- Opening an account, depositing, withdrawing, placing a bet, or contacting support.
- Phone or email response times, or whether live chat is offered to Australian customers.
- Installing either app on a device in Australia.
- The per-market Market Base Rate shown on the Rules tab, which requires a logged-in account.
- Betfair's AFL line and totals prices, which were not in the sampled dataset for Betfair.
- Google Play written reviews, which are not accessible without a scraper.
- Data last checked
- 28 Sep 2026
- Facts verified
- 93
- Sources on file
- 64, available on request
Full method, source hierarchy, update frequency and corrections process: bookmaker research methodology.
Affiliate disclosure: OzFootball has no affiliate agreement with any bookmaker at the time of writing. If that changes, links on this page will be marked and this notice updated. Affiliate arrangements never influence the measurements or methodology on this page.
Betfair FAQ
Is Betfair legal in Australia, and who regulates it?
Yes. betfair.com.au is operated by Betfair Pty Limited (ACN 110 084 985), which appears on the Northern Territory Wagering Commission's list of licensed wagering operators (row 12, and again at row 13 as CrownBet) and on the ACMA register of licensed interactive gambling providers. Its terms state it holds a betting exchange licence under the Racing and Wagering Act 2024 (NT). Betfair was licensed in Tasmania until it moved to the Northern Territory from 20 September 2016; the NT commission first granted its exchange licence in September 2016. Neither the NT list nor the ACMA register publishes a licence number or expiry.
How does Betfair commission work, and how much is it on AFL?
Betfair charges commission only on net winnings in a market, calculated at that market's Market Base Rate; a losing market pays nothing. The published rates are 6% for sport and international racing, 10% for NRL, and 8% or 10% for Australian racing depending on the state and code. AFL falls under the 6% sport rate (NRL is the only sport exception named). Example from Betfair: $100 net winnings at 8% pays $8 commission. A small number of accounts also pay a Premium Charge (20% or 40% of gross profit once profit over the last 52 active weeks exceeds the AUD equivalent of £25,000 or £100,000), a Turnover Charge on NSW thoroughbred and NRL markets, or a Transaction Charge above 5,000 transactions in an hour.
How long does a Betfair withdrawal take, and is there a maximum?
Bank transfer withdrawals have a $15 minimum, are published as taking 1 to 3 working days and are free. PayPal withdrawals are published as within 24 hours and free, must go back to the PayPal account used to deposit at least up to the amount deposited, and show a $15 minimum on the payments table ($5 on the PayPal page). Cards issued in Australia cannot receive withdrawals and Osko is deposit-only. No maximum withdrawal amount is published. Only funds not held in exposure against open bets can be withdrawn.
Do I have to verify my identity with Betfair, and how long does it take?
Yes, before the account is created. Betfair states it will not create an account or give access to the Exchange until identity is verified. It first tries an automatic electronic check at registration; if that fails it sends an SMS link to a Scantek check using a passport or Australian driver's licence plus a selfie liveness check, after which a staff member validates the documents. No timeframe is published for that manual step. Since 29 September 2024 AUSTRAC requires online gambling providers to complete customer identification before an account is opened or a service provided. A legacy Betfair help page still describes a 90-day window and an Australia Post form; it is out of date.
Can I use a credit card on Betfair, and what deposit methods are there?
No. Credit cards, credit-linked funds (including digital wallets) and digital currency have been banned for online and telephone wagering in Australia since 11 June 2024, and Betfair's payments page says it rejects cheques, credit cards and third-party payments. The published deposit methods are debit card ($10 minimum, instant, no Betfair fee), PayPal ($15 minimum, instant, free) and Osko ($30 minimum, 30 minutes to 24 hours, free). BPAY was discontinued on 10 June 2024, bank transfer deposits on 14 May 2024 and Skrill deposits on 3 June 2024.
Does Betfair have a sign-up bonus in Australia?
No. Under the National Consumer Protection Framework for online wagering, online gambling providers cannot offer any incentive to open an account or to refer someone else to open one. That has applied since 26 May 2019 (26 November 2019 in New South Wales). OzFootball does not publish promotional offers.
Can I bet in-play on AFL with Betfair?
Not online. Betfair states that since 2015 Australian customers cannot bet in-play on a sporting event through the app or desktop and must call its telephone betting service on 132 BET (132 238), quoting their Telephone Account Number; the minimum telephone bet is $50. Racing in-play is available online. Betfair says online in-play is also available on the AFL Brownlow Medal and politics markets; that statement is Betfair's own and was not checked with the ACMA.
Will Betfair limit or close my account if I win?
Betfair publishes no fixed maximum stake: a bet is limited by the lesser of the available-to-bet balance and an exposure limit that Betfair can change at its discretion, and it is only matched to the extent other customers offer money at that price. Winning accounts are not limited by price but may pay the Premium Charge described above. Account restrictions or closures were mentioned in 0 of the 162 App Store reviews analysed; two of the 20 Reddit threads found were about a suspended or closed account. The NT Wagering Commission does not investigate complaints about closed or restricted accounts.
Are Betfair's AFL odds better than the bookmakers'?
In the OzFootball sample, yes for head-to-head: Betfair offered the best available price in 84.8% of 428 comparable head-to-head prices across 214 of the 218 AFL matches sampled in 2026, with a mean margin of 1.87% and a median of 0.91%, first of the 12 bookmakers measured. Those are exchange prices before the 6% commission on net winnings, and no line or totals prices were sampled for Betfair. The full ranking is on this page.
How do I contact Betfair Australia or make a complaint?
The helpdesk is 1300 BETFAIR (1300 238 324), published in the terms as 24 hours a day, 7 days a week; telephone betting is 132 BET (132 238), also 24/7; email is [email protected]; post is GPO Box 1065, Darwin City NT 0800. The group dispute resolution page says the outcome of a complaint is communicated within 10 days of receipt. If you are not satisfied with Betfair's decision, the terms say you can lodge the complaint with the Northern Territory Wagering Commission through its online wagering complaint form, within 60 days of becoming aware of the issue.
Who owns Betfair Australia?
The Australian operator is Betfair Pty Limited, an Australian private company registered in Victoria (ACN 110 084 985, ABN 30 110 084 985, active since 16 July 2004). Betfair's About page says Betfair merged with Paddy Power in 2016 and is part of Flutter Entertainment plc. Betfair Pty Limited also operates the CrownBet sportsbook under a separate NT sports bookmaker licence. The apps are published by Betfair Pty Ltd itself. The wider group's ownership was not part of this research.
Has Betfair been fined or investigated in Australia?
Yes. In July 2025 Betfair Pty Limited paid an $871,660 ACMA infringement notice for 148 marketing messages sent to VIP customers without consent and six without an unsubscribe option, and entered a two-year court-enforceable undertaking. On 24 June 2024 the Northern Territory Racing Commission fined Betfair 153 penalty units ($24,174) in each of two decisions for failing to act on red-flag behaviour by customers who deposited about $697,000 and $431,520 to bet on the 2020 US election. In November 2018 the same commission ordered Betfair to refund $150,000 to a customer after finding it missed red-flag behaviour. The ACMA's Interactive Gambling Act investigations page lists no Betfair investigation.
Data last checked 28 Sep 2026. Live prices are read from the odds feed at page render and are not part of the verified fact count.
Gamble Responsibly
Think! About your choices. Set a deposit limit. Gambling problem? Call Gambler's Help 1800 858 858 or visit gamblinghelponline.org.au. Odds and markets shown for informational purposes only. OzFootball Stats does not accept wagers. 18+ only.
18+. Gamble responsibly.
Gambler's Help 1800 858 858.